Andalucia Cup 2016


First of all I would like to congratulate Jim McIlwaine who won this years 36 hole singles stableford competition for a 3rd time ( previously 2011 & 2014 ) well done Jim!!

We would also like to thank everyone who participated and made this years Andalucia Cup the most successful ever, with 152 players enjoying 3 days of excellent competitive golf on three of the Costa Del Sol´s most popular courses, Santana, Torrequebrada and Santa Clara with all players commenting on the superb condition they were all in.

The event was fittingly ended on the Saturday night at Moochers Restaurant in Fuengirola with an excellent 3 course meal, prize giving and an auction which raised 4,741.00 Euros for the charity Debra, the Marbella based butterfly Childrens Charity, again we sincerely thank everyone who handed over their hard earned cash to this worthy charity and to most golf courses on the Costa Del Sol who kindly donated green fees for this cause.

Special thanks also to our co-sponsors, Malaga Minibus, Finnegans Bar  Fuengirola  & Moochers Restaurant

Team Winners

Texas Scramble – Santa Clara
Winners: Darrell Breese, Phil Hastilow, Warren Groom, Kirk Bridgen 59 – 4.3 = 54.7 Net
Runners up: Tommy Furley, Andy Kelly, Dave Bodie, Richard Shiels 66 – 8.2 = 57.8 Net local rule
3rd place: Tony Lynch, Mike O´Callaghan, Fred Hofler, Tony O´Neill 66 – 8.2 = 57.8 Net

Nearest The Pins: 2nd Shay Morris, 6th Paul Power, 13th Sean Fitzgerald, 15th Chris (Kit) Grogan

Longest Drive: 10th Willie Moules

Santana: Singles Stableford

Winner: Mike Mullane 40 pts
Runner Up: Michael Ryder 39 pts local rule
3rd Place: Cherry Briggs 39 pts

Nearest the Pins: 2nd  Michael Ryder, 7th Ken MacKenzie, 12th Mark Miller, 16th Mark Rawlinson

Longest Drive: 10th Kirt Bridgen

Torrequebrada Singles Stableford
Winner: John Hicks 40 pts
Runner Up: Tony Byrne 35 pts local rule
3rd Place: Warren Groom 35 pts

Nearest The Pins:3rd Micky Curran, 9th Keiron Packham, 11th Ken MacKenzie, 13th Colin Murray

Longest Drive: 14th Warren Groom

Singles Stableford Overall

Combined Stableford Scores: Santana & Torrequebrada

Winner: Margrit Frisch 37 + 30 = 67 pts ( H´Cap 17 )

Winner: Jim McIlwaine 38 + 36 = 74 pts ( H´Cap 2 )
Runner Up: Georg Frisch 40 + 33 = 73 pts ( H´Cap 13 )
3rd Place: Kirt Bridgen 40 + 32 = 72 pts ( H´Cap 0 )

  • Share this post:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • Digg

Comments are closed